Ingenia - Issue 31, June 2007


"Official: Global Warming Beatable"

Dr Scott Steedman FREng

View full article


Responses to 'Systems Biology' and the MacRobert Awards

Colin Blakemore FMedSci Hon FIBiol FRCP Hon FBAASc FRS, Andrew J Millar, Dr Geoffrey Robinson FREng

View full article

In brief

TLRP – Support for Young Engineers; Engineering for all at the BA Festival; Thomas Telford 250

View full article


Intellectual Property – what does the Gowers Review tell us?

Sir Hugh Laddie

View full article


Paul Westbury FREng

An intuitive engineer

The Academy's youngest elected Fellow talks to Michael Kenward OBE about his love of sport and his contribution to the creation of some of today's leading sports venues

View full article


MacRobert Award 2007

An overview of the technologies produced by the 2007 winner and three finalists of the prestigious MacRobert Award

View full article

Supersize Wings

Rob Bray

The challenges of designing the wings for the world's largest passenger aircraft, the Airbus A380

View full article

Brightening Lives

Professor Richard De La Rue FREng

How optoelectronic semiconductors are continuing to have an impact on modern life through the discovery of new materials and new design structures

View full article

Decarbonising Buildings

Roger Hitchin

Maximising the elimination of carbon generated in creating, taking down and maintaining a building

View full article

Digital Switchover

Dr William Webb FREng and Simon Crine

The issues surrounding the digital transformation of the UK's television system

View full article

Lloyd's Register Educational Trust Lecture 2007

This year's lecture 'Carpe Diem: the Dangers of Risk Aversion' was given by Professor Roderick Smith FREng ScD FIMeche

View full article

Vehicle Sound Engineering

Dr Paul Jennings, Dr Garry Dunne and Roger Williams

Creating car sounds that are appropriate to their marques

View full article


Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief Dr Scott Steedman FREng
Managing Editor Dominic Joyeux
Editorial Assistant Angus Dawson
Editorial Board Professor John Burland CBE FREng FRS
Basil Butler CBE FREng
Bob Emmerson FREng
Dr Dougal Goodman FREng
Derek Hanson FREng
Michael Kenward OBE
Dr Ian Nussey OBE FREng
Professor William Stewart FREng
Dr William Webb FREng
Director, Policy & Public Affairs Dr Richard Wilson

[Top of the page]